Home > General, Navel Gazing > Not Looking Back

Not Looking Back

The first (and last) time I posted here it was August 2. I wish I could say this was a world-altering post five months in the making. It is not. But the time for regrets is over. There’s no time like the present.

So, refer to the previous post for my reasons for wanting to begin this project, and please keep a few things in mind:

1. My friend Jeff (who is still blogging daily) has since moved back. I will let him tell you why and how here, but suffice it to say, from a selfish perspective, I am okay with it.

2. The design of this blog sucketh mightily, and I’ll slowly add features (featurettes?). It’s a work in progress. I don’t even have an avatar, which is distressing. But the writing’s the thing.

3. The Beer and a Jog project lasted two months, at which point the time strains of Nichole returning to work (seriously… our evenings feel like they last a whole 20 minutes) and the burden of paying for the beer conspired to sink the ship. Unfortunately, the running ended shortly thereafter.

3. This blog will serve, for the next few months, as a landing page of sorts for the English 251 class at Drury University, so if anything seems odd, that’s why. I’ve taught the class on two other occasions, though this will be my first go-round without having the benefit of 417 Magazine as an employer (and thus an online publication/internship carrot dangling to keep students buying in). But it has also inspired me to switch up the curriculum a bit, which could be a very good thing. We shall see.

I’ll try to keep this page interesting and relevant and as focused as humanly possible. Expect observations, pop-culture critique (a Lost re-re-re-watch is slated to begin tonight) and sports commentary. Anyone with a fondness for Mad Men, The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones, Cardinals baseball or classic movies may be particularly interested.

After the cut: 10 quick resolutions. • Distance myself from the Dallas Cowboys. Seriously, guys. Just go 5-11 and score a top 10 pick already. Not only are they frustrating, they are a waste of time, which is about as big of a offense as I can be handed these days.

• At least once a month, go to lunch with someone interesting, whether for personal/professional improvement or just good conversation.

• Write every day. Finish a few stories. Work stories count, but press releases don’t. Neither does Twitter. This should mean these posts will become more tolerable.

• To that end: Less time on social media in general, so as to reacquaint myself with my attention span and the thought-development process.

• Run and/or work out three times a week. Possibly take up swimming and racquetball. This in order to…

• Lose 20-25 pounds. I may not look it (I probably do) but I’ve gained almost 50 pounds since the marathon days. I don’t need to get down to that point again, but a 5′ 9″ guy like me shouldn’t be pushing two bills.

• Drink less. This is as much a relic of the holidays as a general life issue, but it’s probably always a good goal.

• Go to more baseball games in Springfield I know September and October will never be topped as a Cardinals fan, and Pujols took what was left of my idealism with him to L.A. Real pleasure in the game can be taken by seeing it in person, so that’s what I’d like to do.

• Support Nichole as she pursues her next set of career goals. She’s been there for me for a long time, so it’s time to return the favor

• Worry less. Ninety-five times out of 100 things work out just fine. Those are good odds, and I should trust them.

Alright. Let’s rock and roll.

Peace, ML

Categories: General, Navel Gazing
  1. jeffhoughton
    January 5, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    Matt Lemmon, word gangsta is writing again. Booyah.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

